American Sportfishing Association elects board of directors members for 2016

Six members of the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) were elected or re-elected to fill three regional seats and three at-large seats on the board of directors. Their terms begin October 1, 2016, and they will serve two-year terms. ASA’s board members may serve three, consecutive two-year terms.

Regional seats went to:

  • Great Lakes Region – Dan Ferris, owner, Midwest Outdoors (new board member)
  • Northeast Region – Chris Megan, publisher, On The Water LLC (reelected)
  • Northern Plains and Inter-Mountain Region – Donn Schaible, president, Wright & McGill Co. (reelected)

At-large seats went to:

  • Louis Chemi, executive vice president and managing director, Recreational Marine Division, Navico (reelected)
  • Gary Remensnyder, president, Lew’s Fishing Tackle (reelected)
  • Zack Swanson, vice president, Sales, Rapala, U.S.A. (new board member)

“The experience and perspectives that these members bring to the board of directors is unmatched and will serve the industry well,” said ASA President and CEO Mike Nussman. “I thank them for their commitment and look forward to working with them to advance the association and the sportfishing industry.”

Dan Ferris was elected to serve his first two-year term as a board of directors member. Ferris has more than 35 years in the fishing/outdoor industry, primarily in media and communications, which he believes will be an asset to the association as the industry addresses conservation and access issues.

Chris Megan, a current ASA board member, was reelected to serve his third two-year term. As a media professional and publisher, Megan has dedicated his time on the board to ensuring that the industry has a voice on issues that impact all sectors of the industry, particularly anglers themselves.

Donn Schaible, the association’s current treasurer, was reelected to serve his third two-year term. He is dedicated to doing his part to ensure that the association remains fiscally sound while at the same time is working to address issues facing the industry, such as access and fisheries management.

Louis Chemi, the board of directors’ secretary, was elected to his second two-year term. He is passionate about defending the recreational industry’s opportunities to grow participation and ensure access.

Gary Remensnyder was elected to his second two-year term. As a board member he wants to continue working to ensure that our waters remain healthy, access remains open and participation in the sport will grow.

Zack Swanson was elected to his first two-year term on the board of directors. He is an active association member and believes he can help grow the membership across all sectors of the industry.

The current members of the board of directors are: Executive Committee – Dave Bulthuis, Costa, Chairman; Gregg Wollner, Rapala, Immediate Past Chairman; Kirk Immens, Sportco Marketing, Vice Chairman; Donn Schaible, Wright & McGill, Treasurer; Louis Chemi, Navico, Secretary; and Gary Remensnyder, At-Large.

The other board members are: David Chanda, New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife; Thom Dammrich, National Marine Manufacturers Association; Ken Elie, Outdoor Pro Shop, Inc.; Peter Foley, Boone Bait Company, Inc.; Chris Megan, On The Water LLC; Dave Pfeiffer, Shimano American Corporation; Jeff Pontius, ZEBCO Brands; Paul Schluter, St. Croix Rods; Aledia Tush, CB’s Saltwater Outfitters; Gary Zurn, Big Rock Sports, LLC.

The ex-officio members are: Kenneth Eubanks, Pure Fishing, INc.; Kenneth Hammond, The Hammond Group; and Tom Rolls, Cabela’s, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *