MIASF announce new board members, award winners at annual meeting

The Marine Industries Association of South Florida (MIASF) held its annual meeting and awards ceremony on Saturday, May 18 at the Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach. More than 200 members and guests in Derby-themed attire packed the Preakness Stakes viewing party during cocktail hour before moving to the ballroom for the evening’s dinner and festivities.

Steve Shapiro, WSVN 7 NEWS weekday sports anchor, served as master of ceremonies and kept the event moving smoothly throughout the presentations. Outgoing Board of Directors Chairman, David Reed, announced MIASF’s newly elected and re-elected members, as well as the executive officers:

Newly elected:

  • Graeme Lord/Fairport, Inc.


  • Megan Lagasse Washington/Pier 66;
  • Marieke van Peer/Seahaven Superyacht Marina;
  • James Brewer/Derecktor Shipyard
  • Chairman: Jim Naugle/Lauderdale Boat Yard
  • Vice Chairman: Doug West/Lauderdale Marine Center
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Jimmie Harrison/Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller
  • Immediate Past Chairman: David Reed/The Triton

MIASF CEO/president, Phil Purcell, discussed the year in review and introduced the association’s newly appointed vice president, James Maitland, formerly of Oceanmax. Additionally, the winner of the Frank Herhold Memorial Scholarship, Morgan Short from Nova Southeastern University’s Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanology, was recognized for her work on corals.

With the Golden Anchor Award and Awards of Excellence, MIASF recognizes individuals and businesses from the industry or in the community whose outstanding achievement and contributions represent excellence and have had positive and significant impacts on the South Florida recreational marine industry. 

Individuals receiving the MIASF Award of Excellence included John Fiore from the Fort Lauderdale Marine Advisory Committee, Mike Busacca – chief operating officer of Fraser Yachts, and Jim Payne – Broward County Schools curriculum supervisor.

The Project of Excellence was awarded to Seahaven Superyacht Marina, and the Community Project of the Year award was presented to the MIASF Habitat for Humanity sponsors: High Seas Yacht Service, Boat Owners Warehouse, Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller, Neptune Boat Lifts, Ward’s Marine Electric, Advanced Mechanical Enterprises, and Centennial Bank. Marine Industry Advocacy Awards were presented to Rep. Holly Raschein (R-Key Largo), Sen. Lauren Book (D-Plantation), and Teye Reeves of Smith, Bryan & Myers. 

The annual Golden Anchor Award was posthumously given to Frank and Gertrude Denison in recognition of their lifetime of industry contribution and achievement. The award was accepted by Denison family members after a touching video tribute honoring the history of Broward Marine and its impact on the South Florida marine industry. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *