ABBRA hands out its annual awards

WARREN, R.I. – The American Boat Builders and Repairers Association released a statement in Ft. Lauderdale Wednesday to announce its annual award recipients at the National Marina and Boatyard Conference and Exhibition.

The awards recognize individuals and companies from the boatyard and repairer industry for their excellence throughout the year and are given in five categories:

This year’s Dennis Snow President’s Award, given for the individual or company that has made outstanding contributions to the Boatyard and Repair industry, was given to Frank Herhold, executive director of the Marine Industries Association of South Florida.

The release said Herhold has emerged as a critical industry voice promoting and protecting the sound growth of the marine industry in both South Florida and nationwide.

Excellence in Safety and Environmental Practices
This year’s award for Excellence in Safety and Environmental Practices was given to Susan Kingston of MarineMax in Stuart, Fla. It is given to the individual or company that has made significant strides in creating a clean, safe and healthy facility for workers and customers. Kingston’s record as the national director of safety and environmental compliance for MarineMax is exemplary, according to the ABBRA statement.

Excellence in Technology
The 2003 Excellence in Technology Award was given to GMT Composites of Bristol, R.I. It is given to the service or repair facility that has developed or applied an advanced or innovative technology system or procedure. GMT has pushed the envelop by building internationally recognized high quality lightweight structures for racing and cruising sailboats since the 1990’s, according to the release.

Commitment to Training
Commitment to Training was given to Professional BoatBuilder magazine of Brookline, Maine, recognizing the organization that has demonstrated a significant commitment to training and professional development. This year’s winner is dedicated to creating innovative forums for learning that first took the form of IBEX and continues to cut the next learning edge with, the ABBRA said.

Award of Excellence
The Award of Excellence was given to Herrington Harbour Marina of Tracey’s Landing, Md. The award is given to the service or repair facility that demonstrates excellence in all facets of their company through commitment to customer service, quality management and positive vendor and employee relations. Herrington Harbour has demonstrated a dedication to customer satisfaction, a concern for the environment, a commitment to its community and involvement in the industry, the ABBRA said.

Nominations for 2004 are being accepted until December 27 from any segment of the industry. For more information or to download a nomination ballot, visit ABBRA’s web site at

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *