announces three-year sponsorship agreement with 
Yachting Journalists’ Association has announced a three-year sponsorship deal with The Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA) for its prestigious Yachtsman of the Year awards. will work very closely with the YJA on all aspects of the event for the next three years to deliver the YJA Yachtsman of the Year Award and the Young Sailor of the Year Award.

These two awards recognize the achievements of Britain’s top yachting talent of the year. They will be awarded at a gala ceremony on January 13 at Trinity House in London.

“We are delighted to be part of this historic event. As a long-time competitive sailor myself, I felt strongly about being involved in a framework that rewards the most deserving yachtsmen. We are really looking forward to presenting the awards to this year’s winners,” said Ian Atkins, president of

“We are delighted to welcome as our new title sponsor; our partnership is a perfect fit,” added Bob Fisher, chairman of the Yachting Journalists' Association.

Sir Max Aitken – a Battle of Britain pilot, chairman of Express Newspapers and a leading yachtsman in both sail and power – established the Yachtsman of the Year Award in 1955. Previous award winners include Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Dame Ellen MacArthur and four-time Olympic gold medalist Sir Ben Ainslie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *