Dyskow appointed to Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON — Phil Dyskow, former President of the Yamaha Marine Group, has been appointed to the Department of Commerce’s Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee. His appointment was supported by the National Marine Manufacturers Association, the Center for Coastal Conservation, the American Sportsfishing Association and several Members of Congress.

In the position, Dyskow will be charged with counseling the Secretary of Commerce and NOAA on national saltwater fishery management and laws that protect marine mammals, sea turtles and other ocean life.

Established in 1971, MAFAC consists of 15 to 21 individuals who are selected through a comprehensive public recruitment process. MAFAC members represent commercial and recreational fisheries interests, environmental organizations, academic institutions, tribes, and consumer groups from a balance of U.S. geographical regions. Member terms are three years, and members may serve two consecutive terms.

MAFAC meets twice a year with supplementary subcommittee meetings as determined necessary by the chair.

Other recently appointed members include:

Julie Morris of Sarasota, Fla. Morris is Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, New College of Florida; former co-director of the New College Environmental Studies Program; representative to the Florida State University System’s Oil Spill Academic Task Force; and former Member and Chair, Gulf of Mexico Regional Fishery Management Council.

Va’amua Henry Sesepasara of Pago Pago, American Samoa. Sesepasara is a member of the American Samoa House of Representatives; Vice-Chairman of the House Agricultural and Fishery Committee; former Director, Department of Marine & Wildlife Resources, American Samoa; and former Member, Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *