ABYC names new board members, officers

The American Boat & Yacht Council hosted its 63rd annual meeting and announced the election of three new members to the board of directors as well as the election of four officers. The annual meeting included an awards presentation to recognize ABYC members who have provided exceptional service to the marine industry.

Joining the board of directors is Christina Paul from K&L Gates LLC, David Johnson from Power Products LLC and Elio Betty from BoatU.S.

Dave Marlow, who has served as board chairman for the past four years, introduced the new board members during ABYC’s annual meeting.

“ABYC’s incoming leadership team brings with it a unique opportunity for ABYC to address two of its strongest user segments; the marine surveying community and marine repair and service dealers,” said Marlow.  “We continually attract board members that are stand-out leaders in their various pursuits – leading ABYC’s mission to maximize customer satisfaction with the boating experience through safety standards, service and repair.”

Marlow will move into the position of past chair with Kenneth Weinbrecht elected as the incoming board chairman.

Weinbrecht is president of Ocean Bay Marine Services, a charter member of the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors (SAMS) as well as a certified marine surveyor of the National Association of Marine Surveyors (NAMS).

“Having been a member of ABYC for over 30 years, I am extremely humbled and proud to have been elected to the position of chairman of the executive committee,” said Weinbrecht. “My predecessor, Dave Marlow, has been an instrumental asset to the success of ABYC’s direction and success. The standards industry is changing on a daily basis and ABYC will be in the forefront of these changes for the benefit of its members; the executive committee is excited about being a part of this challenge.”

Other elected officers include:

  • Ward Eshleman, Ward’s Marine Electric, Inc. – Vice Chair
  • Pete Chisholm, Mercury Marine – Technical Chair
  • Nancy Cueroni, National Marine Distributors Association – Treasurer

The awards ceremony included a new ABYC award, the Bolling Douglas Memorial Award, to honor one of ABYC’s most vocal supporters who passed away in 2016. The annual award will be presented to the female member of ABYC who best exemplifies the life of Bolling Douglas through their dedication to the marine industry through the advancement of safety, education and standards in recreational boating. ABYC was pleased to present the first Bolling Douglas Memorial Award to Becky Smith of Sea Ray Boats.

Additional awards presented:

  • ABYC Service Award – E. Charles Game
  • ABYC Horizon Award – Cricket Holt

ABYC also recognized retiring board members George Bellwoar and Dave Slobodien.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *