Innovative products awarded at IBEX

MIAMI BEACH, Fla. — Nine products were honored for innovative achievement by the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) and Boating Writers International (BWI) at the International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition & Conference (IBEX) in Miami Beach this week, according to a release from NMMA.

Winning companies received their awards during the IBEX Industry Breakfast at the Miami Beach Convention Center.

The Innovation Awards, organized by NMMA and judged by BWI, recognize products that are distinct from others in the market; benefit the marine industry or consumer; are practical and cost-effective; and are available to the consumer within 60 days of the awards. A total of 43 new products were entered in this year’s competition.

“Given the state of the marine economy, it is remarkable that we have more than 40 quality entrants in the Innovation Awards this year,” Roger Marshall, IBEX Innovation Awards chair and past president of BWI, said in the release. “I think that when the market comes back there will be some truly innovative boats out on the water using many of the products we see here today.”

Additional BWI members serving on the IBEX Innovation Awards judging panel this year include: Jim Barron, senior technical editor, Trailer Boats; Glen Justice, editor, Mad Mariner; Frank Kehr, port technical services, technical writer, Soundings; Marilyn Mower, editor, Southern Boating and Marine Business Journal; Bill Pike, senior editor, Power & Motoryacht; and, Alan Wendt, editor, Marine CEO.

IBEX Innovation Awards were presented to the following companies:

Winner: Structural Composites/Compsys, Inc. – Prisma “TA” System

Honorable Mention: Maretron, LLP – N2K Builder

Winner: Mastervolt, Inc. – Lithium Ion Battery

Honorable Mention: Blue Sea Systems – Safety Hub250

Winner: Taco Metals – The Intelli-Hinge

Honorable Mention: Armstrong Nautical Products – RIB Ladder

Winner: Volvo Penta – OceanX

Winner: Groco (Gross Mechanical Labs, Inc.) – SSA Series Raw Water Systems Monitor

Winner: Morbern, Inc. – Boreal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *