Marine Trades Association of New Jersey elects 2017-2018 officers and directors, presents sponsor awards

On Apr. 6, the Marine Trades Association of New Jersey held its Annual Dinner & Elections at Doolan’s Shore Club in Spring Lake and elected its 2017-2018 officers and directors.

Jim Cerruti of Fair Haven Yacht Works in Fair Haven will begin his term as president of the association. Ed McCarthy of McCarthy’s Marine Sales in Brielle will begin his term as first vice president, and Brian Fischer of MESCO in Thorofare will begin his term as second vice president. Ed Harrison, III of Baywood Marina in Brick remains the treasurer and Raymond Bogan of Sinn, Fitzsimmons, Cantoli, Bogan, West & Steuerman in Point Pleasant Beach continues as secretary.

Three new directors were elected to serve on the board: Eric Traber of Pier 47 Marina in Wildwood; Aaron Held of Octopus Yachts: Marine Electrical Systems in Wall; and Debbie Mooers of Grassy Sound Marina in Wildwood. The following directors were re-elected to serve another three-year term: Mark Cassidy of Cassidy’s Breton Woods Marina in Brick; George Fuller of George Fuller’s Marine & Machine in Bayville; Karen Gruppuso of Coastal Environmental Consulting, LLC in Toms River; and Pat Salinas of Morgan Marina in Parlin.

Rick Castellini of Island Marine Center, LLC in Ocean View, Ray Fernandez of Bridge Marina, Inc. in Lake Hopatcong, and Greg Wright of John B. Wright Insurance in Manasquan will continue their terms as directors.

The active past presidents that will continue to serve on the Board include: Don Ditzel of Comstock Yacht Sales & Marina in Brick; Fred Brueggemann of Key Harbor Marina & Yacht Sales in Waretown; Ed Harrison, Jr. of Baywood Marina in Brick; Tom Leaming of Leamings Marina in Waretown; Paul Terzian of Causeway Marine Sales in Manahawkin; and Rick Traber of Pier 47 Marina in Wildwood.

The Regional Board of Governors includes Pat Salinas representing the Northern Region, Tom Leaming representing the Central Region, Rick Traber representing the Southern Region, and Ray Fernandez representing the Lake Hopatcong Region.

“The Marine Trades Association of New Jersey is one of the finest marine business organizations on the East Coast,” said Jim Cerruti, the newly elected President. “I’m looking forward to leading the Association and will work hard to provide our members with the support, knowledge, and resources they need to succeed in their own business.

“It is very rewarding to work with such a dedicated group of professionals on our executive committee, board of directors and office staff, as we meet the many challenges of our unique industry,” he added. “As a 20-year member of the association, the benefits of membership and the effect on the bottom line have been significant. There is a wealth of information and experience in our organization and I am hopeful we can extend our assistance to many more marine businesses in the State.”

The MTA/NJ also held its Sponsor of the Year Awards at the annual dinner. The MTA/NJ established this award thirteen years ago to show its appreciation and to recognize the leading sponsors and supporters of the Association. This year, the MTA/NJ was pleased to be able to award three very deserving and incredibly supportive companies sponsorship recognition.

The Top Sponsor of the Year awards went to: Interlux Yacht Finishes of Union, John B. Wright Insurance with offices in Waretown and Manasquan, and Travelers Ocean Marine of Edison.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button