ABBRA presents annual awards

WARREN, R.I. — The American Boat Builders & Repairers Association recognized members of the boatbuilding and repair industry for excellence at its annual awards celebration last month, according an ABBRA release. The awards were held at the International Marina & Boatyard Conference in Ft. Lauderdale.

Awards were given in six categories, ABBRA said. The awards went to:

The Dennis Snow President’s Award: Carl Cramer, Publisher, Professional Boatbuilder, Wooden Boat Magazine and IBEX Show Co-Director. This award recognizes an individual or organization that makes a significant and lasting contribution to improving the state of the boatyard industry.

The Award of Excellence in Customer Care: Haven Harbour Marina in Rock Hall, Md. Haven Harbour has 36 staff members, a large percentage of whom are certified by both ABBRA and The American Boat and Yacht Council, according to ABBRA.

ABBRA’s Award of Excellence, or ABBRA’s “Boatyard of the Year”: Yachtworks, a pleasurecraft service division of the Saunders Engine Company in Orange Beach, Ala. This award goes to the service or repair yard that demonstrates excellence in all facets of business through commitment to customer relations, quality management and positive vendor and employee relations.

Excellence in Safety and Environmental Practices: Kelli Thornell-Crete, President, CEO, Bookkeeper, Receptionist, Cook and self-proclaimed head Bottle Washer of Ink, Inc., which provides safety and health consultation services to general, marine and construction industry employers.

Excellence in Technology: Lyman-Morse, a custom boat-building yard on the Coast of Maine with a 200-year history building sailing and motor yachts.

Commitment to Training: Steve Kitchin, Marine Industry Training & Education Council Chair and Vice President, Corporate Education and Training at New England Institute of Technology.

ABBRA represents over 250 boatyards, repairers and associated industries in the United States and abroad. For more information on ABBRA’s annual awards’ categories and nomination process, go to

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button