Huck to be placed in Canada’s Boating Hall of Fame

TORONTO, Ontario — Gerald (Jerry) Huck will be inducted into Canada’s Boating Hall of Fame this month, the National Marine Manufacturers Association Canada recently announced.

The Induction will take place at the 2009 Toronto International Boat Show’s annual Industry Breakfast on Jan. 13. The Toronto International Boat Show is produced by the NMMA.

From 1975 to 1996, Huck was president and co-owner of Ed Huck Marine Ltd. in the Thousand Islands. The site has hosted commercial boating operations for over a century, and the marine is still operated by Huck family members today, the association reported.

Huck is a founding member of the Ontario Marine Operators Association and served as president from 1974 to 1975. He is also a founding member of the Thousand Islands Chamber of Commerce and was president of the organization in 1978. Huck served as a Dealer Advisory Council member for OMC from 1976 to 1980, then followed as a board member of the St. Lawrence Islands Parks Commission from 1980 to 1985. From 1988 to 1993, he served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Thousand Islands Antique Boat Museum.

Huck has also been active in his community, according to NMMA Canada. From 1998 to 2004, he was a member of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation and the Ontario Casino Corp. At the time, he led the bid to establish the Thousand Islands Charity Casino, now located in Ganonoque, attracting substantial tourism and revenue to the area. Huck is also a previous winner of the 1985 OMOA President’s Award, the 1988 W. J. Robertson Award and the 1989 OMOA Business Improvement Award.

“Jerry Huck is a pioneer in this business, and his valuable support and advice for the OMOA during its 41-year history has been instrumental in making this industry the success it is today,” said Al Donaldson, executive director of OMOA. “He is a fine addition to Canada’s Boating Hall of Fame and all of us congratulate him on this great achievement.”

Canada’s Boating Hall of Fame Award is presented annually by NMMA Canada and is voted on by the Hall of Fame’s committee. The award, created in 1997, has honored industry greats such as Harold Shield, W.J. Robertson, Lloyd Crate, Karin Larson, Gordon Blake, Ed Lee, Hans Fogh, George Cuthbertson, Bruce Robertson, Larry Lauzon, George Hinterhoeller, Ted Quinn, Bob Eaton, Mark Ellis, Chuck Hourston, Ed Botterell and Bob Paterson.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *