MIASF selects new board members

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – The Marine Industries Association of South Florida recently held annual elections to fill four vacant positions on its Board of Directors, which produced several changes to the association leadership, MIASF said in a release yesterday.

Officers and directors for the 2008-2009 term are:

  • J.J. McConnell, Gilman Yachts of Fort Lauderdale – president
  • John Stephens, Lewis Marine Supply - vice president
  • Mark Hanke, Merritt’s Boat & Engine Works - secretary/treasurer
  • Kristina Hebert, Ward’s Marine Electric - past president
  • Tom Ackel, Bluewater Chairs – director
  • Mark Bailey, Merrill-Stevens – director
  • Trey Irvine, Pipewelders Marine – director
  • Patrick Knowles, Patrick Knowles Designs – director
  • Kitty McGowan, NautiCom Communications – director
  • Scott Miser, Rybovich – director
  • Cathy Petowsky, River Bend Marine Center – director
  • Jim Renfrow, Fairline Florida – director
  • Jay Reynolds, J.P. Reynolds Co. – director
  • Irvine, Knowles, McGowan, Miser, and Renfrow are new to the board while Jim Bronstien, Wes Dickman, Jeff Dana, John Mann, and Craig Muir are retiring from it.

    “MIASF has been fortunate to have the talents of leaders like Jim Bronstien, Wes Dickman, Jeff Dana, John Mann, and Craig Muir for their dedication and years of service to the MIASF,” said Frank Herhold, MIASF executive director. “Their contributions have helped to strengthen the association I know our new directors bring experience and vision to our Board that will only make us stronger."

    MIASF honors Dickman
    In a separate press release, MIASF reported that it had also selected Dickman to be the recipient of its 2008 Golden Anchor Award.

    The award, which recognizes an individual for a lifetime of achievement and extraordinary accomplishment benefiting the marine industry, will be presented to the honoree at the MIASF Annual Awards Gala June 7 in Fort Lauderdale.

    In addition, Captain Karl Schultz, Commander of Coast Guard Sector Miami, along with City of Coral Springs Vice Mayor Roy Gold and Dr. Fran Bohnsack, the executive director of the Miami River Marine Group, will be honored with Awards of Excellence at the Gala for their contributions to the marine industry during the past year.

    The Roscioli Yachting Center will also be presented with the Project of the Year Award.

    "I've had the privilege of working with each of these individuals and the marine industry and South Florida community are better as a result of their contributions,” said Frank Herhold, executive director of the MIASF. “They are truly deserving honorees."

    • For more of the latest news, click here.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *