MTA/NJ hands out awards

MANASQUAN, N.J. – The Marine Trades Association of New Jersey held its annual dinner and elected its 2008-2009 officers and directors, the association said in a statement Wednesday. The MTA/NJ hall of fame and sponsor of the year awards were also presented during the event.

Ed Harrison, III, of Baywood Marina in Brick will serve another term as the association’s president. Dave DiPaolo of Riverbank Marina in Bayville, will serve as first vice president and Rick Traber of Pier 47 Marina in Wildwood as second vice president. John Curtis from The Ship Chandlers in Point Pleasant remains the treasurer and Raymond Bogan of Bogan & Bogan, Esquires in Point Pleasant Beach continues as secretary.

The directors that were reelected and serving staggering terms are Fred Brueggemann,
Statewide Marine Services, LLC, Mantoloking; Scottie Franklin, Main One Marina, Avon-by-the-Sea; Walter Johnson, III, Johnson & Towers, Inc., Mt. Laurel; Tom Mackie, South Harbor Marine, Waretown; Chris Ohrenich, John B. Wright Insurance, Cape May; and Kersten Roehsler, Viking Terminal Marine, Sayreville.

Harrison reappointed the following directors for another one year term: Michele Blivin, B & E Marine, Wildwood; Brian Fischer, MESCO, Thorofare; Channing Irwin, Irwin Marine, Red Bank; Brad Minor, Minmar Marine, Sea Isle City; Michael Sinnema, LGA Engineering, Inc., Lakewood; and Greg Wright, John B. Wright Insurance, Manasquan.

The MTA/NJ hall of fame was established to honor an individual, group or organization who, over the years, has proven to be outstanding in furthering MTA/NJ's objectives. This year, the Hall of Fame Award was presented to Genevieve Boehm Clifton of the NJDOT Office of Maritime Resources in honor of her contributions and commitment to the marine industry and waterways in New Jersey. Boehm Clifton has worked tirelessly on behalf of the marine trades industry for more than 10 years. She manages the Marine Trades Program at the NJDOT which includes the I BOAT NJ Program, the National Boating Infrastructure Grant Program and the Dredged Material Management Program to name a few.

The MTA/NJ once again held its Sponsor of the Year awards at the annual dinner. The first award, for the third runner up, went to Boat Safe Insurance Agency and the Davidson Family. The second award went to Salty Dog Publications and Bob Curcio. The highly coveted Top Sponsor of the Year award went to John B Wright Insurance Agency and Greg Wright.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *