ABYC elects new directors to board

EDGEWATER, Md. – The American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC) recently confirmed the election of new board directors at its annual meeting in Miami, ABYC said in a statement today.

Jim Ellis, chair of the ABYC board, officially welcomed and introduced the incoming board directors; John McClendon, Jeff Melby and Bill Parlatore, to those attending the meeting, ABYC said.

The new members will replace past board directors Joe Charles – president, Charles Industries, and JJ. Marie – president, Zodiac of North America, who retired after their three-year terms, ABYC said.

The board provides strategic direction and guidance in furthering ABYC’s core mission of developing standards, safety guidelines and supporting workforce education and training programs for small craft, marine professionals and the boating public, according to the statement.

McClendon, president of SeaArk Marine, Inc. since 1998, is also a board member and major owner of SeaArk Boats, Inc., as well as Drew Foam Companies. He also served on National Marine Manufacturers Association’s Engineering Committee from 1994 – 1997.

Melby is vice president of Environment and Safety for Genmar, where his responsibilities encompass all areas of marine safety and regulatory affairs. He is both a registered professional engineer and an attorney. He was elected to a one-year position by ABYC’s membership to fulfill the position vacated by Marcia Kull, who stepped down due to added corporate responsibilities and other pressing commitments.

Parlatore, the editor in chief of Passagemaker magazine developed the idea to publish a cruising powerboat magazine to help the growing number of people who share an interest in the “trawler lifestyle.” He is an active member of the Safety at Sea Committee at the U.S. Naval Academy, which hosts a yearly program to ready midshipmen, sailors and racers for the sea.

ABYC’s 2004 Board of Directors:

  • Bret Bretnall, Raritan Engineering Company, Inc.
  • Mike Burlingham, MarineMax
  • Philip Conner (Past Chair), Hinckley Yacht Services
  • Thom Dammrich, NMMA
  • Greg Davis, Davis and Company, Ltd.
  • Bolling Douglas, Marine Associates, Inc.
  • Gerry Douglas (Treasurer), Catalina Yachts
  • Bill Drake (Technical Board Chair), Marinco
  • Greg Eck, Yanmar Diesel America Corporation
  • Jim Ellis (Chair), BoatU.S.
  • Jack Flaig, Bombardier Motor Corporation of America
  • Dennis Graham (Vice Chair), Teleflex Morse, Inc.
  • Gordan Grant, Montgomery, Barnett, Brown, Read, Hammond & Mintz, L.L.P.
  • Dave Marlow (Past Chair), Sea Ray Boats, Inc.
  • John Underwood, Lockwood Marine, Inc.
  • Chris Washburn, Washburn’s Boatyard, Inc.
  • Al Weinstein, Weinstein Associates
  • Bill Yeargin, Rybovich Spencer
    • For more of the latest news, click here.
    • To discuss this topic with other recreational marine industry professionals, click here.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *