Superyacht Society seeks award nominations

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. — The International Superyacht Society is seeking nominations from the yachting industry and yachting public for its annual Awards of Distinction.

ISS Awards of Distinction recipients are recognized at the Meeting of the Associations in Monaco — scheduled this year for Sept. 21 at the Yacht Club Monaco — and are presented awards during ISS’s International Awards for Design & Leadership Gala held the opening night of the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show — scheduled this year for Oct. 27 at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort.

Because of a growing awareness of environmental concerns among its members, ISS announced the creation of the ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award at last year’s 20th Anniversary of the International Superyacht Society Awards for Design and Leadership Gala. The Blue Award celebrates stewardship of marine ecosystems.

ISS requests that nominations be made prior to Aug. 19. A nominations form is available on the International Superyacht Society website,
Complete descriptions from the group of the Awards of Distinction are listed below:
ISS Business or Business Person of the Year
The ISS Business or Business Person of the Year is awarded to those demonstrating excellence in their area of superyacht expertise within the previous year; nominations come from both the industry and the ISS board with the board making finalists selections. Previous honorees have included Corporation of Trinity House, Professional Yachtsman Bursary Scheme, Frans Heesen, Heesen Yachts and John Dane, Trinity Yachts.
ISS Distinguished Crew Award
Distinguished Crew Award (DCA) nominations are made by the industry; selection is made by a panel of judges. Specifically, the DCA honour is designed to “recognize yacht crew whose distinguished acts of service best exemplify the standards to which professional yacht crew aspire.” Previous recipients have included Captain David Hill, Yacht Aid Global, Captain Sandy Yawn and Captain Bob Corcoran.
ISS Excellence in Innovation
Open to every aspect of the industry—from crew training to technological advances to environmental stewardship—the Excellence in Innovation award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated innovation in their endeavours. Nominations come from the industry and ISS board members vote to determine finalists. In 2010, 2009 and 2008 respectively, Alastair Callender—Soliloquy, Carlisle and Finch and Agrimond were awarded the Excellence in Innovation honour.
ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award — New!
The ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award celebrates stewardship of marine ecosystems. Environmental leadership, global oceanic conservation and resource preservation are prerequisites for nomination. The integration of environmental technologies and resource management with the goal of setting achievable standards and models for wide adaptation in the design, engineering and building of large yachts—and the use of the Earth’s waterways—are essential criteria. Nominations are made by owners and the yachting industry; selection is by panel of judges, including Mr. Cousteau.
ISS Leadership Award
The only ISS award nominated “in-house”; the Leadership Award recognizes an individual or business whose distinctive work and commitment to the industry has contributed over a substantial period of time to the sustainable growth of the superyacht community worldwide. Nominations are sought from ISS board members; the judging panel consists of previous recipients of the award. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *