BoatUS announces Boating Access Award winners

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — Twelve boating people, projects, and public policy measures were honored with the 2010 BoatUS Recreational Boating Access Award, according to a recent release from the company.

The Access Award honors a group, government body, business, individual, or non-profit organization that has succeeded in preserving or improving public waterway access for boaters. Judging criteria includes how well challenges were overcome, the direct impact of the solution, and how adaptable the approach would be in other areas facing similar water access challenges.

The winning individuals were Chuck May, Chair Pro Tem, Great Lakes Small Harbors Coalition, Dr. Frances Bohnsack, Miami River Marine Group, Lisa Lawrence and Margaret Pizer, Virginia Sea Grant Marine Extension Program at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science, former Hawaii Governor Linda Lingle, Jim Connors, Maine Coastal Program, and former Massachusetts Senator Michael W. Morrissey.

The six winning boating facility projects were Alviso Marina Boat Launch Ramp project, Huron Boat Access project, Ohio Dept. of Natural Resources, Michigan’s Dept. of Natural Resources and Environment, South Carolina’s Georgetown County Council, the City of West Palm Beach, and the City of Clearwater.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *