B.I. publisher among MRAA award recipients

LAS VEGAS – Boating Industry magazine Group Publisher Tammy Galvin was among several industry members receiving awards during the 2007 Marine Retailers Association of America Convention, held in late November at the Rio Grand Convention Center in Las Vegas. Over 400 members of the industry were in attendance at the convention.

The award won by Galvin, originally referred to as the MRAA Journalism Award, was renamed in honor of Jerry Martin, a public relations icon and long time industry activist. He was among the founders of the Marine Retailers Association of America and served as director of development for many years. Martin’s passion was to see dealers receive proper status in the recreational boating industry; he worked tirelessly toward this end, according to MRAA. Martin was well connected to all of the industry’s communications networks and continually bombarded them with dealer news, the association added.

The Journalism Award was presented by Laura Martin, Jerry Martin’s daughter, who was also a member of Jerry’s PR firm. This year’s award went to Galvin for revitalizing Boating Industry magazine’s content and importance to the industry. A major example of this is the Top 100 Dealer Program, which was Galvin’s brainchild and a crowning jewel for the industry, according to MRAA.

“An ‘idea’ is nothing without incredibly detailed execution infused with an equal amount of passion,” Galvin explains, “and I truly feel blessed because that’s what the Boating Industry team and the participating dealers and sponsors bring to the Top 100 program. Without those critical aspects, it would have remained, well, just an idea.”

Laura Martin noted that the first MRAA Journalism Award was presented to Charles Jones, who was then the editor of Boating Industry magazine. Like Jones, Galvin is an innovative thinker, the association suggested.

Several other awards handed out

Among the other awards handed out during the convention was the Irv Rosenthal Award, presented annually to someone in the industry who fosters the mission and goals of the association. It was established in honor of Irv Rosenthal who was the owner of Transfer Monogram. He was very instrumental in the formation of MRAA in the early 1970s, according to the association. It is given annually to someone in the industry who fosters the mission and goals of MRAA. This year the award was presented to Clint Moore, Volvo Penta of the Americas. Moore has been most generous in his support of MRAA throughout its history, the association stated.

Another member of the Volvo Penta of the Americas team also received an award during the convention. Marcia Kull, vice president and general counsel, received the Darlene Briggs Woman of the Year Award, presented annually to an outstanding woman in the boating business who demonstrates leadership and commitment to our industry. The recipients also must show a willingness to volunteer their time and effort in their communities and social organizations.

This award was established in 1987 in honor of Darlene Briggs of Wayzata Marine, who exemplified these qualities, serving as the first retail marine saleswoman in Minnesota and the first female member of her state marine trades association. It is sponsored by Boating Industry magazine, MRAA Spader 20 Group 103 and MRAA.

The 2006 recipient was Debbie Davis, currently serving as vice president of the private client group of The Elite Financial Advantage. Other past recipients include: Carol Ricketts, Albemarle Boats senior vice president of finance and administration; Dawn Johnson, manager of dealer and consumer support and warranty for BRP U.S.; Joan Maxwell, president of Regulator Marine Inc.; and Kris Carroll, president of Grady-White Boats, Inc.

The Bill Ferguson Award was named after the first executive director of MRAA, Bill Ferguson, of Houston, Texas. Ferguson was the executive director of Boating Trades Association of Texas. He served as the first paid executive director of MRAA. This award is given annually in his honor to a local, state or regional MTA that exhibits outstanding support for its membership. This year the award was presented to Marine Trades Association of New Jersey by MRAA Director Bill Sommerfield. The MTA of New Jersey has been extremely active in legislative issues and educational venues. Accepting the Award for MTA of New Jersey was Melissa Danko, executive director of the association.

The Supplier of the Year Award is presented annually to a supplier or manufacturer that provides extra support to MRAA. This year’s recipient is Customer Service Intelligence and was presented by MRAA Director John Vallely. CSI has contributed enormously during this past year with the Industry Dealer Certification Program. They are an endorsed MRAA service; their contribution to the industry has been outstanding, the association stated. Fran Olsen accepted the award.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button