Waterway security zones established in Georgia

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Temporary security zones and regulated navigation areas have been established to reduce the potential for hostile acts around Sea Island, Ga., with the G-8 Summit taking place there June 5-11, BoatU.S. said this morning in a press release.

The zones – which will go into effect at 8 a.m. tomorrow and run through 4 p.m. June 11 – "prohibit or regulate all vessels and persons; without Captain of the Port permission, from entering waters in the vicinity of the Savannah River, Sea Island, St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island," according to the association.

However, boaters may ask permission to transit these zones from the Savannah Captain of the Port on VHF Ch. 16 or by calling (912) 652-4353, but are cautioned that all requests may not be granted, BoatU.S. said.

Affected areas include: Savannah River from Port Wentworth south; Back River; Elba Island South Channel; and the Intra-coastal Alternate Route near St. Augustine Creek. The vicinity of Sea Island, Jekyll Island and all Atlantic waters from the baseline of Sea Island, St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island extending seaward three nautical miles; Hampton River, Jones Creek, Lanier Island and St. Simons Sound; and eight bridges will have 100-yard buffer zones.

The Coast Guard also confirms that the Intra-coastal Waterway will be shut down and is cautioning that boaters may want to delay their passage or take the alternate offshore route, according to BoatU.S.

Charts of the temporary security zones for St. Simons/Jekyll Island and the temporary security zones and regulated navigational areas for Savannah can be viewed by going to the G8 Web site http://www.g8ga.info then selecting the maps.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.
  • To discuss this topic with other recreational marine industry professionals, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *