Jerry Wood recognized with Industry Award for Leadership

ANNAPOLIS, Md. — SAIL magazine awarded its Industry Award for Leadership to Jerry Wood at a private sailing industry reception during the Annapolis Sailboat Show, the company announced Tuesday.

The award was made by Donald A. Macaulay, former publisher of SAIL, and accepted by Kathy Wood, Jerry Wood’s wife and owner of the United States In-Water Boat Shows.

The magazine created the award in 1993, which has been given annually to honor and recognize those individuals who have made a major and important contribution toward helping the sailing industry achieve success and growth, the company stated.

“Jerry Wood died this past spring knowing he was to be the recipient of this award. He was touched. I am happy about that because of all the leaders our industry has had, he was the most unheralded, yet one of the most important,” Macaulay said.

Wood founded the Annapolis Sailing School in 1959 and had the vision to create the United States In-Water Boat Shows in 1970. According to Macaulay, he was also involved in several charitable marine-related activities such as the development of the City of Annapolis’ municipal sailing program and the St. Brendan Sailing Program for learning disabled youths.

The Leadership Award trophy itself is a model of an L. Francis Herreschoff-built ship saluting cannon. Macaulay suggested that Mrs. Wood and the Annapolis Sailboat Show staff start a legacy by beginning each Annapolis Sailboat Show with the firing of this cannon, according to the company.

“The bang will remind everyone of Jerry and the bang that our industry got when he opened the first U.S. Sailboat Show in 1970 and every show that followed,” said Macaulay.

Past recipients of the award include: Everett Pearson of TPI; Peter and Olaf Harken of Harken, Frank Butler of Catalina Yachts; Steve and Doris Colgate of Offshore Sailing School; The Johnstone Family who created J/Boats and other sailing businesses; Randy Repass of West Marine; Bob Johnson of Island Packet Yachts; Warren Luhrs of the Luhrs Marine Group including Hunter Marine; Garry Hoyt of Newport R&D; David Stanton of American Sail; and the team from Rolex Watch U.S.A.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button