NMMA calls for leadership nominations

CHICAGO – The National Marine Manufacturers Association is currently accepting nominations for the 23rd Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award, the organization said in a press release yesterday.

The award, which NMMA’s Accessory Manufacturers Division board of directors sponsors, honors the memory of Freedman, a former NMMA Shows Committee chairman and active association member who helped found the association in 1979.

The award will be presented during the 2006 International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition & Conference, Nov. 1-3 in Miami.

The Freedman Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the marine industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation. Recent past recipients of the award include James Taylor, Taylor Made Group Inc. (2005); Bob Selig, Davis Instruments (2004); and Fred Kegelmeyer, Brunger Export Company (2003).

“This award is the highest possible honor to bestow on a member of the marine accessories community,” said Rick Russell, Anderson Marine Division director and NMMA’s AMD board chairman. “To be recognized with this honor is a sign of significant achievement in this industry.”

Any marine industry member may nominate someone for the honor. Candidates for nomination include accessory manufacturers, representatives, members of the media, dealers, distributors or association staff persons. The deadline for this year’s Freedman nominations is Sept. 29, and a nomination form is available for download on nmma.org. The 2006 recipient will receive his or her award on Nov. 3, during the IBEX Industry Awards Breakfast.

  • For more of the latest news, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *