Home » News » MBIA awards Rep. LaFontaine and Sen. Robertson with Mayor’s Cup

MBIA awards Rep. LaFontaine and Sen. Robertson with Mayor’s Cup

By Michigan Boating Industries Association

Livonia, Mich., -- Rep. Andrea LaFontaine and Sen. David Robertson have been awarded with the 2014 Mayor’s Cup Award, given by the Michigan Boating Industries Association (MBIA) annually for outstanding contributions to the recreational boating industry in Michigan. LaFontaine and Robertson have been recognized by the MBIA Board of Directors for their leadership in sponsoring the Sales Tax on the Difference (STOD) for boats which became law in November of 2013.

The presentation of the awards took place today at the ribbon cutting ceremony for the 56th annual Detroit Boat Show at Cobo Center in Detroit, Mich. 2004 Mayor’s Cup Recipient Randy Richardville and Senator Jack Brandenburg were also in attendance and were thanked for their help passing the STOD legislation.

“The passage of Sales Tax on the Difference was vital for our industry to bring Michigan to an even playing field with other Great Lakes states for boat sales,” said MBIA Chairman Jim Coburn, of Coburn & Associates. “We commend Rep. LaFontaine and Sen. Robertson for their leadership; they are very deserving of this honor.”

“Immediate results have already been seen by our dealer members.  Many are reporting specific instances where boat sales transactions stayed in our state that would have been taken to other states before STOD,” said MBIA Executive Director Nicki Polan. “Boating is a $7.4 billion industry in Michigan and with STOD we expecting continued growth.”

The Mayor’s Cup Award started in 1984 and 30 individuals have been recognized since its inception. The list includes Michigan municipalities, elected officials, organizations and individuals that have made an outstanding contribution to recreational boating.

Past recipients of the Mayor's Cup have been:

  • 2013       MI Representative Andrea LaFontaine and MI Senator David Robertson
  • 2011       Rick Snyder, Governor, State of Michigan
  • 2010       Candice Miller, U.S. Representative
  • 2009       Captain Luke Clyburn, Captain of the Pride of Michigan
  • 2008       Grosse Pointe Yacht Club
  • 2007       SOS Terri Lynn Land & Lt. Governor John Cherry
  • 2006       WJR Radio, The Voice of the Great Lakes
  • 2005       Ray Underwood, Muchmore Harrington Smalley
  • 2004       MI Representative Randy Richardville
  • 2003       Rodney Stokes, MI DNR
  • 2002       MI State Senator Joel Gougeon
  • 2001       Dr. Ed Mahoney, MSU
  • 2000       Dawn Riley, America True
  • 1999       Michigan Representative William J. Callahan
  • 1998       Candice S. Miller, Michigan Secretary of State
  • 1997       O.J. Scherschligt, MDNR
  • 1996       The Nautical Mile Association
  • 1994       Michigan Senator Gilbert J. DiNello
  • 1992       J.P. McCarthy, WJR Radio
  • 1991       St. Aubin Marina, Detroit
  • 1990       Dryland Marina in Grandville
  • 1989       Rep. Tom Hickner and Sen. Phil Arthurhultz
  • 1988       City of Harrison
  • 1987       City of East Jordan
  • 1986       City of Rogers City
  • 1985       City of Grand Haven
  • 1984       Mayor Coleman A. Young

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Privacy Preference Center