Awards to be presented at SNAME 2013 Annual Meeting & Expo

September 27, 2013
Filed under News

Hyatt Regency Bellevue - Bellevue, Washington, November 6-8
Early Registration Discounts up to $US 200 Until October 14

JERSEY CITY, NEW JERSEY (USA) – The Society of Naval Architects and Engineers (SNAME) will present its annual awards during the SNAME 2013 Annual Meeting and Expo, November 6-8 at the Hyatt Regency Bellevue in Bellevue, Washington. Early registration discounts of up to $US200 for SNAME 2013 are available until October 14.

SNAME will recognize four individuals for their outstanding contributions to naval architecture, marine engineering or ocean engineering and ship research. The annual achievement medals will be presented at the SNAME Annual Banquet, on Thursday, November 7.

The David W. Taylor Medal for notable achievement in naval architecture and/or marine engineering will be presented to Dr. Jeom Kee Paik, Professor, Department of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, Pusan National University, Korea.

The Vice Admiral “Jerry” Land Medal for outstanding accomplishment in the marine field will be presented to Christopher J. Wiernicki, President and CEO, American Bureau of Shipping (ABS).

The William H. Webb Medal for outstanding contributions to education in naval architecture, marine or ocean engineering will be presented to Dr. Henry S. Marcus, Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The Blakely Smith Medal for outstanding accomplishment in ocean engineering will be presented to Carl Arne Carlsen, Sr. Vice President, Det Norske Veritus.

The 2013 William M. Kennedy and Elmer L. Hann awards will be presented at the Awards Luncheon on Friday, November 8. The luncheon will also feature presentations of 50-Year Golden Membership Certificates, the ABS-Linnard Prize, the Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane award, the Faculty Advisor of the Year Award, Certificates of Appreciation, Student Paper Awards and the ASNE/SNAME 2013 Dr. James A. Lisnyk Design Competition awards.

Membership Certificates representing 50 years of SNAME membership will be presented to Guillermo Alvarado, Joseph A. Applegate, Justus Benckhuysen, William C. Blaiklock, John W. Boylston, Wing Kwong Cheng, John P. Colletti, Bryan Crutcher, Dieter W. Czimmek, John F. Davies, Kenneth W. Fisher, Sadhan K. Ghosh, Donald A. Gillies, Mark R. Henry, William H. Hunley, J. C. Jeremy, Karl L. Kirkman, F. Kiyokawa, Robert Lowry, Paul B. Mentz, Jerome H. Milgram, Eugene R. Miller, Jr., Karl F. Mosvold, Henry A. Olson, Michael G. Parsons, I. Hilary Rolih, Pablo N. Sare, Chryson Sariyanidis, Som D. Sharma, Fred E. Shumaker, Leonard E. Van Houten and Heinz F. Weyer.

THE 2013 WILLIAM M. KENNEDY AWARD for outstanding service and contribution in the development of systems and planning applying to shipbuilding and repair will be presented to Arthur W. Divens, Managing Member, Sextant Executive Solutions LLC.

THE 2013 ELMER L. HANN AWARD for the best paper presented at the Ship Production Symposium, October 23-24, 2012, will be presented to Yu-Ping Yang, Harvey Castner, Randy Dull, James R. Dydo, Tyau-Da Huang, Dennis J. Fanguy, Victoria Dlugokecki and Lisa Hepinstall for their paper “Complex-Panel Weld Shrinkage Data Model for Neat Construction Ship Design Engineering.”

THE AMERICAN BUREAU OF SHIPPING--CAPTAIN JOSEPH H. LINNARD PRIZE for the best paper published in Volume 120-2012 TRANSACTIONS, the 2013 American Bureau of Shipping-Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize will be presented to Norbert H. Doerry for his paper “Institutionalizing Modular Adaptable Ship Technologies.”

VICE ADMIRAL E. L. COCHRANE AWARD is presented to the author of the best peer-reviewed paper published by the Society from conferences, symposia, “Featured Papers”, non ship production papers of the Journal of Ship Production and Design, and non archival papers presented at the Annual Meeting. The 2013 Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane Award will be presented to Bruce W. T. Quinton, Claude G. Daley and Robert E. Gagnon for their paper “Response of IACS URI Ship Structures to Real-time Full-scale Operational Ice Loads” presented at the ICETECH Symposium, September 2012.

CERTIFICATES OF APPRECIATION for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society will be presented to:

Joseph J. Cuneo and Marty Toyen for exceptional service to the Society over a five-year period that directly resulted in the financially successful sale of the SNAME building in Jersey City, NJ. The Society also recognizes Alan Bourne in memoriam who also served in the same capacity.

William W. Rogalski, Jr. - for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society serving as the SNAME Co-Chairman and Judge of the ASNE/SNAME Dr. James A. Lisnyk Student Design Competition, 1998-2012.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARDS – The 2013 DSA award “for dedicated personal service and/or technical contributions to the Society” will be presented to Richard M. Burns, William B. Hale and William L. Hurley.

THE FACULTY ADVISOR OF THE YEAR AWARD is presented to a Faculty Advisor from a SNAME Student Section for his/her leadership and service qualities that have contributed to the program and operations of a Student Section of the Society. The 2013 Award will be presented to Jennifer R. Ryan, The Apprentice School, Newport News Shipbuilding Student Section. In addition to recognizing an outstanding Faculty Advisor, thanks to a generous donation by Bruce and Dorothy Rylander Johnson, a $5,000 Scholarship, namely, the Bruce and Dorothy Rylander Johnson Scholarship will be awarded to a deserving student member from the respective Student Section.

THE 2013 STUDENT PAPER AWARDS are awarded for the preparation and presentation of papers of outstanding merit and originality at the student level contributed to a meeting of the Society or one of the Sections.

Graduate Paper Honor Prize - Austin Barnes, John F. Casilio, Michael D. Frederick, Jerica Nolte, Andrew K. Schwartz for their paper “The Conceptual Design of a Floating Offshore Wind Turbine Farm for Oahu.”, presented at the Southwest Section Honolulu SNAME Meeting, December 5, 2012.

Graduate Paper Award - Alex B. Knoll, Todd M. Shipman, Ginny Whisenhunt for their paper “Ocean Engineering Human Powered Submarines: Past, Present and Future”, presented at the Texas Section February 7, 2013.

Undergraduate Paper Honor Prize - Clayton K. Callander for his paper “Wake Prediction Behind Planing Hulls”, presented at the Chesapeake Section.

Undergraduate Paper Award - Catherine M. Walker, Kellen A. Stock, Alexandria M. Fell, Steven T. Suggs for their paper “Design of an Arctic Offshore Supply Vessel (AOSV), AMMANIQ”, presented at the New England Section April 21, 2013.


First Place – to the University of British Columbia for their design” "Concept Design of a Multi-Purpose Shallow Draft Buoytender for the Canadian Coast Guard.” The winning team from the University is Matthew Allan, Daniel B. Greig, Brenden S. Oke, Byron Roehrl.

Second Place - to the Norwegian University of Science and Technology for their design "IssV: Icebreaking Seismic Survey Vessel.” The winning team from the University is Karoline Jespersen, Sindre Soenneland Moldenhagen, Dennis A. Nymo, Andreas Anthonsen Jahn and Tor Arne Skråmestø.

Third Place – to the State University of New York Maritime School for their design "LNG Carrier.” The winning team from the University is Daniel McDonald, Tyler C. Steel, Molly J. Divens and Michael DeWald.


Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!